.

Szechuan’s Dumpling Now Open, What’s Your Take?

Review Arlington’s newest Chinese restaurant in the comments below.

Now that Szechuan’s Dumpling’s open, we want to know your take.

How is the food? How is the menu? How is the service? How does it compare to Jade Garden? Let us know by posting a comment below.

Szechuan’s Dumpling replaced Jade Garden at 1360 Mass. Ave. in Arlington Heights.

More info: New Arlington Heights Restaurant Opening Thursday

MS February 22, 2013 at 01:28 AM
I got ma PO to fu, and asked for an extra order of rice for take out. When I picked up the order, I confirmed the extra rice, and was told oh yes, it's there. When I got home, I opened the bag to find one small box of rice, the slimiest tofu in a bright red sauce with about 1/4" of oil on top. It was so disgusting that I couldn't eat it. I really miss my friends at jade garden.
mindy erbus February 22, 2013 at 01:59 AM
Well to each his own I guess. I stopped by for take out and ordered fried rice and edamame with mustard greens and tofu. It was fresh (not pre-cooked and just sitting around) and light and I really liked it. I personally can't wait to go back and try the fried pork buns in the pic above. Plus while I was waiting for it, I was offered a cup of hot tea - for FREE. A welcome and refreshing change. I am looking forward to going back.
Jeff Boudreau February 22, 2013 at 03:23 PM
Yesterday on Facebook and today in the Patch you have displayed an image of dumplings made of bleached white flour. I urge readers to educate themselves about this processed food product, and think twice before ordering. The Little-Known Secrets about Bleached Flour... March 26, 2009 by Dr. Mercola Nearly everyone knows that white flour is not healthy for you, but most people don’t know that when white flour is bleached, it can actually be FAR worse for you. It’s generally understood that refining food destroys nutrients. With the most nutritious part of the grain removed, white flour essentially becomes a form of sugar. Consider what gets lost in the refining process: Half of the beneficial unsaturated fatty acids Virtually all of the vitamin E Fifty percent of the calcium Seventy percent of the phosphorus Eighty percent of the iron Ninety eight percent of the magnesium Fifty to 80 percent of the B vitamins And many more nutrients are destroyed -- simply too many to list.... Source - http://articles.mercola.com/sites/articles/archive/2009/03/26/The-Little-Known-Secrets-about-Bleached-Flour.aspx
DK February 22, 2013 at 03:24 PM
Fried pork buns were amazing! However the General Gao's chicken was average at best. Could have been 1st day jitters but the service seemed to be a bit disorganized. I saw a few other plates that looked good, I'd give it a 2nd try
Tim February 22, 2013 at 04:02 PM
Hey Jeff I have an Idea have Town Meeting Ban Flour in Arlington..... Get a life dude..
Quantum Mechanic February 22, 2013 at 07:35 PM
Haven't tried it yet, but I did receive their menu in the mail. It looked a bit disappointing in that menu was the standard American Chinese restaurant menu you see everywhere (though there were a few more authentic-sounding dishes, like the pig's ear, pig's feet, and tendon dishes) and the whole "dumpling" thing appears to be that they have dumplings with 6 or 7 different fillings instead of just the standard pork filling. Still, even if they just execute what is on the menu well, that'll be a good thing.
Tim February 22, 2013 at 09:03 PM
Yeah, /quantum-mechanic I agree with you ever since the Ka Loc closed there hasn't been a decent Asian joint in town . Although if ya wanna get wasted out of your tree may I suggest Asian Confusion . It is a few doors down from the methadone clinic .. Where in the world can ya get smashing drunk crawl out the door and have the drug of your choice right there ..Oh yeah if super lucky you just might see a politician or two getting ripped at the bar .. Pass the egg roll
Big Jim February 23, 2013 at 02:24 PM
How horrible. The ingredients consist of FLOUR *gasp* and not stuff from Aunt Goodbody's holistic health, natural food, and poetry reading emporium. I am just shoked.
Joan Foley February 23, 2013 at 07:05 PM
I thought I would try gen gaos chicken Kind of hard. Soup of the day was basil. That was it basil and broth w/bones crab ragoon had a different taste. Thought I would get luncheon special. Very disappointed. I miss Jade Garden, Will have to go to Fushion for my chinese
Joan Foley February 23, 2013 at 07:07 PM
I also asked for a menu since I have delivery. Did not get one
Ronin February 23, 2013 at 07:32 PM
Okay where do i start: it was 7:15 we got there with a 7 mo baby and 4 year old. They sit us and made us wait for an hour before we got asked anything they bring the menu and asked us at the same time what we wanted i said lets get some appetizers and will order after we look at the menu. we wait for the appetizers for an hour they start showing up one at the time 10 to 15 minutes a part each was so bad i with i took pictures i got sick my wife got sick thank god we didn't eat anything else oh we ordered chicken dumplings they bring shirimp i remind you i cant eat fish then they bring a replacement 20 minutes later (are you adding up the time i am) they bring the same thing this time fride:) then thy take that back and bring a something i am not sure what it was we asked for the bill we payed 25 for no food remind you just 3 appetizers and water. this was happening to a table on the left and right and front of us so if anyone says they got a great service they are laying no one got any service on February 23 2012. i would not recommend this place to anyone and trust me they will go under ill give them a year no one will go there.
Aljorma February 23, 2013 at 07:45 PM
Here's a menu compliments of someone who posted it on CHOW http://chowhound.chow.com/topics/891402
Maggie February 24, 2013 at 12:31 AM
I ordered takeout @6:15pm, was told 20minutes my husband arrived there 6:35 and is still waiting!!!! It is 7:30pm, they made him pay when he walked in said ten minutes and then nothing. Unless this food is out of this world, not coming back ever again!!
Cantafordcambridgemovetoarlington February 24, 2013 at 01:40 AM
Had take-out tonight they put my order in a plastic bag never again.
Patricia February 24, 2013 at 10:59 AM
Yantze River in Lexington has a nice buffet on weekends.
Old Lady February 24, 2013 at 11:56 AM
They just opened up.. give them a chance to get started.
Tim February 24, 2013 at 01:09 PM
Well Joan , you can't go wrong at Fusion . Get rip roaring drunk and you only have to order an egg roll for food .. Hey it's almost as good a kegger at the Bosses Boss
Joan Foley February 24, 2013 at 02:54 PM
you know Tim You don't know me . I am handicapped and mainly do takeout . I don't get roaring drunk and I have a right to my opinion I have watched all the changes in Arl for 75 yrs. Jade Garden is one I am going to miss.
farnacle February 25, 2013 at 03:07 AM
ditto
Tim February 25, 2013 at 03:32 AM
Jane your opinion is that just yours .. Go to fusion and have an old fashion and a Valium ...
Kelly Chan February 26, 2013 at 03:34 AM
Just went to Szechuan's Dumpling for dinner tonight , great food ... Mini Juicy Dumpling taste best forever ... great service too , will come back for dinner soon !
r.okin February 26, 2013 at 12:18 PM
Just curious - you were there with a baby and a toddler for 3+ hours.. By my calculations that means you were there until after 10pm. That's pretty ambitious.
Peter Sward February 27, 2013 at 02:22 PM
Went for lunch yesterday and it was great! I had Soup dumplings and the pork and bamboo shoots and both were very enjoyable and the service was great. For you fans of American Chinese, give them some time, they just opened. http://thedailylunch-woburn.blogspot.com/2013/02/szechuans-dumpling-arlington.html
Andrew W. February 28, 2013 at 03:50 PM
Delivery was really fast the other night...only ~20 minutes from call to door. (Granted, a weeknight.) I got my Chinese-place-litmus-test, Kung Pao, and it was so-so, which seems to be typical around Boston. Thin sauce, not very spicy, lots of celery as filler. (If anyone can recommend good Kung Pao around Arlington, I'm all ears.)
gbc March 02, 2013 at 03:29 AM
Their dumplings are divine! The pork mini juicy dumplings were just the best - very authentic, fresh, aromatic and definitely oozing with broth. Fabulous. Also the beef with spicy Szechuan sauce was fab - incredibly spicy, huge bowl with beef and chinese cabbage. A delight. I suggest visitors stick to authentic Chinese items rather than the sweet western slop that passes for Chinese food. I will go back soon and often - it's the real deal!
Jane Doh March 21, 2013 at 07:09 PM
Bet you're a lot of fun at parties, Jeff.
James Liebman March 30, 2013 at 01:59 PM
Ate there on Friday night. The food was fantastic, especially anything noodle. We had pork and chive dumplings. The skin was perfect. Not thick and doughy but crisp, thin and delicious. The filling was better than average, seemed very fresh. The mini pork dumplings (soup dumplings) we perfect. The Mapa tofu was sharp and tasty and extremely fresh. Could have been a little spicier but it was good and hot. My wife thought maybe a bit less salty but still enjoyed it. The noodles in black bean sauce (i think) was very good. The noodles them self were perfect, I think home made and the perfect texture. The sauce was a little sweet. This leads me to my fist complaint. We got this dish as the waitress suggested it when we asked if they had DanDan Noodles. They don't. That's the whole complaint. They really need Dan Dan as a szichuan place. More shortly.
James Liebman March 30, 2013 at 06:17 PM
Ok, I'll finish. I can't say enough about the quality of the food and our disappointment about the lack of DanDan noodles but I'll stop there on those. The final complaint is that the kitchen is definitely having trouble getting the food out and keeping up with the crowd. To be fair, the place was packed with diners and take out pick ups (plus I think they do a delivery trade). But, the food came slowly. Ours came one dish at a time. We didn't make it to the bok choy and ended up canceling it. There were other people noticeably unset about the wait. They will iron these problems out, they're gonna need to. We will go back for the food and even if the service remains too slow i suspect we'd suffer it for the amazingly fresh, high quality Sichuan, but i don't think everyone will see it that way. Also, if you go, encourage them to put Dan Dan on the menu. Please. A small uprising might work. With the quality of their noodles, it could be Dan Dan worth fighting for.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »