.
News Alert
UPDATED: Bomb Threat at UMass Boston Cleared

Medical Marijuana in Massachusetts: Yea or Nay?

Voters will be asked to decide in November. Tell us where you stand on the issue today.

Should Massachusetts allow marijuana to be used and grown for medicinal purposes?

The ballot initiative calls for Massachusetts to allow doctors to prescribe marijuana to patients with chronic medical problems. It also calls for treatment centers to be created to cultivate and distribute the drug.

It isn't the first time Massachusetts voters have been asked to weigh in on marijuana law changes. In 2008, voters approved an initiative that reduced possession of small amount of marjuana from a criminal offense to a fine.

Attorney General Martha Coakley, the state's top law enforcement official, said in April that, if passed, the initiative is "going to cause a huge headache making sure it’s not abused." Still, her office was neutral on the initiative, she said.

Do you support medical marijuana in Massachusetts? Let us know by posting a comment below.

inthegloaming August 22, 2012 at 10:36 PM
heh. So will/have the anti-pot morons. :-)
inthegloaming August 22, 2012 at 10:40 PM
Granny and Peter: let's meet at the Capitol and raise a glass or three to legalized pot helping people in pain, etc., live less burdensome lives. xoxoxo Born in 1950, but missed Woodstock :-<
Tim August 23, 2012 at 01:56 AM
What Pot isn't legal? I hear its the drug of choice up around the Stratton.
csj565 August 23, 2012 at 12:44 PM
"Medical marijuana is just a hippie ploy for the lazy dopers to do what they want!" good one @Paul... seriously, are you even aware that you have major issues? I certainly can't be the first to point it out!
Paul August 23, 2012 at 01:03 PM
Yo CSJ... Liberals and Losers have "issues". Liberals and Losers always need to criticize happy, successful people. What i do have are the usual bills, daily problems of life , a great life free of addictions and full with, friends, family and Faith. Put down the weed and alcohol, stop ragging on people whose happiness makes you irritable and let the liberal ENVY go.
marianne August 23, 2012 at 01:20 PM
Why do you have to be so mean?
Wind Dummy 25 August 23, 2012 at 03:45 PM
Great for hangovers, so I've heard, is that a medical condition? You can spahhk up after a long night hopping the proposed Arlington bahhs! Good luck with dat...
Shaun August 23, 2012 at 06:40 PM
Liberals have very happy lives, liberals have the same bills, liberals have daily issues to deal with just like you do. "losers" come from all camps, liberal, conservative, democrat, republican and everywhere in between.
Shaun August 23, 2012 at 06:49 PM
You make a good initial point about smoking in general but lost all credibility when launching into the same old tired "hippie ploy for...lazy dopers" There are many hippies both in Arlington and other towns who are part of the community, working to support local farms, working to support green space and parks, working to feed the hungry, working to support the education, working to support a vibrant art, music and cultural scene. And yes for the record I do oppose more bars in Arlington. Drinks over dinner or a music performance is one thing but the center is already overrun with drunks from sun up to sun down who have nothing better to do than make life difficult for everyone else. I am also opposed to pot heads doing likewise but again your equating one with the other doesn't make a valid point.
Shaun August 23, 2012 at 06:53 PM
Alan, be more specific. You are doing a fantastic job or ranting and raving but are not making a point. You have made a potentially unfounded observation which is lacking any kind of conclusion. How have "they" ruined this country? What have "they" done to be ashamed of? Go visit the financial district in Boston one of these days and see the Abercrombie and Fitch crowd toking up on their lunch breaks. It is more than just "pro-pot morons" who support this.
Paul August 23, 2012 at 08:27 PM
Shawn, which I gather is not the true Irish spelling of Sean, life in Arlington is not according to the Porcellian Club at Harvard's debate rules...... you liberals all think in one narrow build by blocks formats.... there are stars in the sky, there are planets in the galaxy therefore St. Agnes' church is full of sheep.... that kind of non sequitur. Life is full of experiences and OPINIONS regardless of the "baselessness" you liberals use as criticism to dismiss others. Glad you are not for the drunks and not for the potheads! Your utopian hippie green types with their Squeeky Frome granny dresses and wild flower snacks are truly harmless nice people.
Shaun August 23, 2012 at 08:47 PM
No Paul, I am Irish and it is Shawn. I'm quite happy with the extra letters thank you very much. And for the record Sean is /not/ the true Irish spelling, it is Seán, there is a significant difference in the pronunciation of the two with and w/out the accent mark.
Paul August 23, 2012 at 10:06 PM
Shanty Irish no doubt with that novel spelling. IF you are REAL Irish you will understand: pug mahon cochmaudra!
Shaun August 23, 2012 at 11:33 PM
Your spurious attempts at "REAL Irish" are cute, do they come with a fake accent as well? Alas, I do have a thing for the Irish brogue.
Tim August 23, 2012 at 11:46 PM
Pot, Bars in Arlington . Is this world coming to an end ? Arlington will be filled with pot smoking beer pong drunks ....
Paul August 24, 2012 at 01:34 AM
No Shawn... They come with an Irish birth certificate and great grandparents from: Cork, Mayo, Kerry, Waterford before 1850.
Paul August 24, 2012 at 01:37 AM
Peter, your Gaelich is faulty. What is needed is economic growth, a fed government 1/3 the size it is now and safety net programs all run at the State level
Peter Nixon August 24, 2012 at 02:52 AM
Is ait an mac an saol.
inthegloaming August 24, 2012 at 04:24 AM
Paul: nor is life in Arlington according to the bigoted, narrow-minded, reverse-snobbishness "you conservative teabagger types" use to stubbornly refuse to accept any facts or opinions that do not fit your cast-in-stone biases. Cuts both ways.
inthegloaming August 24, 2012 at 04:28 AM
maith aon!
Donald Mei August 24, 2012 at 04:33 AM
How dangerous pot is to the smoker is irrelevant. Its not Government's job to protect us from ourselves. Government's job is to protect us from others. In other words, does THC affect people in a way that makes them dangerous to others. If we use alcohol as a "line in the sand", we can come to some conclusions. i.e. are drunk people more dangerous than high people? I'd say the answer is a definite yes. People who are high tend to be quiet, almost passive. THC does not lower your inhibitions. Unlike alcohol it doesn't make some people violent. Finally, unlike alcohol, THC is not chemically addictive. So where's the problem? Its less destructive than alcohol and poses even less of a threat to people around the person who is using the drug. I don't get it.
Donald Mei August 24, 2012 at 04:35 AM
Alan, Do you drink? Do you have friends who drink? I don't mean one. I mean 2, 3 or 5 in a sitting. Do you judge them? Are they morons? Whats the difference other than that alcohol is so interwoven into every aspect of society that its impossible to ban?
Donald Mei August 24, 2012 at 04:40 AM
Alan, Your positions are inconsistent at best. I thought Republicans wanted less Government regulation. Obama has been the greatest Presidential disaster since George W Bush. (Yes, they were/are both disasters, but BHO seems to be a better disaster) He's created a regulatory and tax environment that has businesses fearing to invest. So wouldn't a little bit of good old fashioned American liberty be a good thing when it comes to pot? After all, it doesn't really hurt anyone. At least no more than alcohol. Remember, the worst thing about pot is that it is a "gateway" drug. In other words, in teh process of smoking pot, you develop relationships with guys who really want to sell you smack, meth, or coke. If you legalize pot, or provide some loophole where people can get it legally, you remove the association with these people. Pot becomes like alcohol, a substance that stands for better or for worse on its own.
inthegloaming August 24, 2012 at 05:03 AM
I'm not sure what kind of people the "OMG, next we'll have drunks throwing up in our driveways" zombie-apocalypse-sky-is-falling crowd know, but I have friends who can get together and have a few drinks and behave themselves like adults. Heck, my 22 year old nephew, who brews beer and likes to party with his friends on the weekends, will call his folks for a ride home from only 15 minutes away if he feels not safe to drive himself. I guess I just don't hang out with the "right" kind of people.
Paul August 24, 2012 at 10:54 AM
Inthegloaming's hate speech as in "teabaggers". Is typical of toss-salad liberals. Like Sam Wilson of Arlington, the real Uncle Sam, Tea Party sympathizers are AMERICAN Patriots. Occupy types are the over educated riff raff who deficate in public, rape, destroy and dispise America.
Shaun August 24, 2012 at 05:28 PM
Paul, you were making such progress on being civil. And to think, here I was saving a happy face and gold stars from my toddlers school supplies as a reward. Oh well, I guess I'll get some chocolate milk and eat the cookie during break time.
Paul August 26, 2012 at 03:25 PM
The DUI laws and enfircement are way overboard. Unless some one is injured, DUI shoukd be a fine and eventually suspension.
Rhonda August 27, 2012 at 02:57 AM
Not if one of these people kills someone in your family Paul. What a stupid statement.
Paul August 27, 2012 at 10:50 AM
Rhonda... Break out your reading glasses girl! I said "unless someone is injured ".... Hello! The point being Over reacting and punishing people for minor infractions has put harmless people in jail for marijuana now has morphed to overacting and ounishing people for DUI. Of course, when a DUI driver causes damage or injury to others.
Christine September 30, 2012 at 08:57 AM
The Government controls what you have to get i.e. shots, vaccines, thank this pill with a million side effects and it's "good" for you. We are suppose to be free, not 1/4 free. I think all the drugs should be legalized and that would help the economy. This way it takes the drugs away from the drug dealers. Marijuana helps people that are sick with cancer, it calms their stomach and helps them eat something, it's the same with Crones disease, and many others. These people are not worried about the future as they will probably not be alive but they are worried about being pain free now and have less suffering. I am all for it, I don't want these people suffering any longer. And I don't use drugs, and I don't smoke (which is a whole other thing). The let everyone smoke, even at one point telling them it was good for them and they know that cigarettes are bad and cause lung cancer and breathing problems yet they don't make them illegal.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something